News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar
AGM 2024 - Changing of Club Officials

AGM 2024 - Changing of Club Officials

Mike Barkworth9 May - 20:00
Share via

New appointments May 2024

On Tuesday 7th of May the club held its 93rd Annual General Meeting where there were several exciting appointments to the club committee

Firstly thank you must be said to all outgoing committee members, most notably Steve Spencer and Colin Goodwin as club president and chairman respectively for all their hard work and dedication over the years spent in their roles

With the departure of Steve Spencer, club members have voted for Andy Thompson as the new club president. Andy is no stranger to the committee having been the club chairman from 2010-2013, membership secretary and grounds representative. Andy is a perfect fit for the role of president and his experience will prove invaluable in the coming years

Also stepping into a new role is Caroline Torkington as club chair making history as the first lady to hold the position in the clubs history. Caroline has run the mini-junior section so successfully for several years. With the help of her team of volunteers Amanda Pearce Tracy Smith and Lisa Robinson the section has seen participation increase massively post-COVID and has helped modernise the club policies with regards to the mini-junior section.

Finally taking the title of Director of rugby is new honorary life member Ricky Newton. Ricky has excelled in every role he has held for the club be it player, club captain or assistant coach. The Director of rugby role will be no different such is his passion for the club

We wish Andy Caroline and Ricky all the best as they usher in a new era for Fleetwood RUFC with the help of the newly formed committee consisting of the following members

Club secretary - Tracy Smith
Treasurer - Steve Doherty
Assistant Treasurer - Tracy Smith
Sales and Marketing Manager - Peter Benny - Moseley
Ladies secretary - Hayley Dorning
Mini Junior representative - Amanda Pearce
Teams representative - Steven Buzza
Bar secretary - Steve Spencer
Membership Secretary - Andy Thompson
County Representative - Steve Doherty
Webmaster - Mike Barkworth
Health and Safety Rep - Steve Pearce
House and Grounds Rep - John Large

Finally, special thanks must go to the outgoing club webmaster Vaughan Evans who after 16 years is finally able to hand over the reigns to someone new

Further reading